Those friends thou hast

“Those friends thou hast, and their adoption tried,
Grapple them to thy soul with hoops of steel;”
(Hamlet Scene 1 Act 3 – Shakespeare)

Unlike many people, I don’t have many friends. I only have few friends I try my best to trust and not depend on. I have few friends, not because I chose to have only a few. I have few friends because I’m stuck with only few. The number of my friends decreases every single day, sometimes even every single hour. Okay, so maybe I’m exaggerating, if I only have few friends and the number decreases every single day, then by two weeks I end up friendless. My point is, I have some friends, not many, but few. And I do confess I have never chosen to have few friend, for I always wanted to be popular and loved by so many people, it just never worked for me. I have this weird almost anti-social personality that no matter what I do I can’t change it. Don’t get me wrong, I try to be friendly most of the time, but I’m weird and I drive people away.

Each year I get lucky to meet one or two, sometimes even three nice and good friends. And sometimes I get even luckier to keep those friends for few years. And indeed I feel blessed to have some friends of five or even six years by my side almost every day. And I’d like to take this opportunity to thank them for being there, and for being in my life. I appreciate that they tolerated me for my whining and distress. And that they accepted me for who I am and never asked me to change.

I would like to apologize to my friends, the ones who trusted me and loved me for who I am, and in return I let them down and ignored their love. Now I know why they’re greater than me.

Friends are like a second family. Sometimes they let you down and walk away, and sometimes they never let you go. I suppose after a while one learns whom to trust and depend on. After a while one knows whom to turn to in the hour of need. And sometimes, it doesn’t even take that long. Sometimes, it only takes a brief moment to know that this person will always be there for you. No matter what happens. And those people are worth keeping , loving and cherishing.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Those friends thou hast

    1. Hi my dear friend. I hope you are feeling and doing well.
      Thank you for stopping by, liking and responding to my message.
      Always an a honor to hear from you 🙂

      Like

  1. This is full of honesty and probably relatable to many, Arwa. It’s difficult to know who can be trusted and after living into my fifties, it’s still hard. I am thankful for some friends who I’ve known for over thirty years and some I’ve known only a short time; some friends, though, who I thought were “there” for the long haul ended up not to be.
    Regardless of age, friends come and go, and those who accept us for who we are and what we stand for are meant to be treasured. Isn’t there an old saying that if we can count our friends on one hand, we are rich? I believe it, which means you are rich indeed. Lovely post; thanks for sharing, Lauren ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sister, such wonderful words, inspirational. You are showing a respect and dedication for all those who respect and care about you. As you know, You are my heart:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

