A struggling editor looking for writers

I’ve been in contact with  Mahmoud Mansi for few years now.  Mr. Mansi is a writer, a poet, an artist, a founder, and a very handsome Egyptian man. He’s the kind of man that would take chances on things that don’t even make sense, yet they make a change and a difference in society. For so many reasons, Mansi and  I have never met, but we keep in contact online, and it’s okay.

He first contacted me while reading my old blog (the one that doesn’t exist anymore) and asked me to participate in a writing competition he was holding, and I agreed, even though I wasn’t sure I’m eligible for writing well, and thought I’d never have a chance. I wrote a story I’m not myself proud of, but it was among the winning stories and that was a good start for me to earn Mansi’s trust as a contributor to any project he starts.

logoforwfOne of his last projects was to create an official website for his foundation The Forgotten Writers. This foundation was founded to support art and history, starting in Egypt after the revolution, to everywhere around the world. I was proud to be part of it, and honored to take the position as an editor-in-chief of one of the sections in the online magazine.

Yes, it’s something to laugh at: me? a chief editor? I have a degree in English literature, and yet I still feel the struggle in writing one flawless sentence. Well, what can you do, one has to practice. And maybe this position is a challenge that will change my life and perspective.

267430_10150237345907982_153090_nI’m thankful to get some help with this position. I’m glad to have this responsibility, though I’m not adequately working on obtaining it. And that’s why I’m asking for help. I’m asking for both: writers to write for the section, and editors who will help me with editing, proofreading and assessment.

The section “Ink your Pen” is all about writing. It invites writers and readers to contribute in their writing about writing. Yes, the concept is way too general, yet one can take a single approach and write about it.

Click here for the website/magazine

And here for the “Ink your Pen” section

If you’re a writer, or want to write, please send write an article about one aspect of writing, and send it to me. You can take a look at the article that are published so far to get an idea about the type of articles and writing we’re looking for.

If you’d like to help me with editing, you can also write to me and tell me all about it. If you also have any question or suggestion, please let me know.

Send me an e-mail to this address inkyourpenATgmailDOTcom (write @ instead of AT and . instead of DOT)

By the way, it’s non profit project, which means no one is getting paid, including me. So don’t expect any money.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A struggling editor looking for writers

    1. Thank you dear Mino. Offering to help is a great support for me.
      If you want to help, you can ask for writers to submit articles. It will be a great help. Really.

      Like

Leave a Reply

