It’s Christmas today – a poem

I wrote this poem two years ago on Christmas day (on my previous blog). I was going through tough times back then and I was feeling different than today/this year.

I sent this poem to some of my friends and they thought it is sad and they didn’t like it. Of course they didn’t. One of my friends told me to edit it and write it again to make it better as my writing has evolved over the years. I couldn’t find the time to do justice to this poem and write it again. So I’m posting it here today and can’t wait to hear what you think.

It’s Christmas today
There should be snow
There should be peace
harmony
and love.

Where is our great friend Santa?
coming from the far away land
to give us what we want
and what we need?

Where is our old and dear friend
Jesus Christ?
Who once came from the dead,
and promised to save our souls?
He is old enough now to keep his promises,
right?

Where is that day?
the twenty fifth of December,
that used to carry our jolliest dreams?

Where are our dreams?
Are they still lost in the fountain of time?
Or are they still stuck in our surrendered souls?

Where are our hopes, faith and passion?

It’s Christmas today.
No one wishes to be alone
yet no one wishes to be with the beloved ones.
There are no beloved ones.
We are alone…

It’s the end of our time.
The end of our eternity.
A new Millennium is to be born,
And our great Lord knows what it carries.

On this Christmas day,
We will leave our lands,
and join our enemies.

On this Christmas day,
we will leave our hopes and dreams
to join our godforsaken fate.

December 25th 2012

7 thoughts on “It’s Christmas today – a poem

    1. Thank you my dear friend. I wish you a very happy new year and hope you had a blessed christmas. I missed having you stopping by my blog and writing comments.

      Like

  1. Dear Arwa – Let us praise the Lord
    For his the Christmas day!!
    The birthday of our savior Jesus.
    Blessing and happiness for those who believes
    Have a blessed Christmas and Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

