My grandmother, my homeland.

Few days ago my grandmother passed away. It wasn’t a shock for anyone in the family, for she had Alzheimer for more than 10 years and like many of her age, she had to say goodbye to the mortal world.

I don’t want to speak about spiritualism in this post. I reached a stage in my life where I have no clue what’s going on in this spiritual realm of life and death. I just know that there are facts that concern being among the living and being dead, which no one can really know what’s going on in there. You can write poetry about that, you can speculate for years, you can talk about it forever, but then the forever becomes the end and we all go without having an idea what’s actually happening.

This post is for talking about who was my grandmother before  Alzheimer deprived her from her true strength. In her youth, being the eldest daughter, she worked in the land and worked really hard. Every season, every harvest, she was there to work as hard as ever. Back then, around 70 years ago, everything was different: men owned and worked in the land, it was everything for them (and let us not forget the era before the Israeli occupation of Palestine). My grandmother, like all young ladies of her age were to be married off to someone. My grandmother worked hard in the land that her father refused to marry her off, until she was old enough and he had to yield. She was known for her beauty, and all the men of the village wanted to rake her as a wife. Only one man was lucky to marry her – my grandfather, who was also known for his hard work and also had a stable job.

Though illiterate, my grandmother was smart and had a very strong memory, she owned a grocery store after getting married and had children and could calculate without even knowing how to write. My grandmother stopped being such a hard worker when she was first diagnosed with Alzheimer. As for my grandfather, he stopped working (in his land after retirement) a year before his death.

I will always remember the hard work and the great example both my grandmother and grandfather had. Their legacy will stay forever. And as my grandmother said in an interview: hadn’t it been for the occupation, we, and all of the generations after us, would still work in our own lands.

Check the following video (with English translation), about what my grandmother believes concerning the homeland and the land.

Start from 13:18:

6 thoughts on “My grandmother, my homeland.

  1. Arwa – I am very shocked to hear the departure of hour grandmother. No one can prepare you for a loss; it comes like a swift wind. But take comfort in knowing that he/she is now resting in the arms of our Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

