With a piece of coal

I check her profile everyday, every hour, to see if she’s okay. Every time she posts something, I’m relieved, that she’s fine – alive.

I send her messages, asking if she’s okay, if she’s safe. I have nothing further to say except to take care of herself and be safe. What am I supposed to do.

Every time she posts something new, she’s closer to danger. And this is the last thing she posted – a drawing she made, in these horrific circumstances :

10532639_817488114948272_5106316531994732882_o It comes with a caption: “with a brown crayon and a piece of coal I found ..I don’t know where the coal came from I guess from the house bombed next door …”
And she later added:  “it’s an every day picture in Gaza …a mom’s last look or last embrace or last goodbye”

4 thoughts on “With a piece of coal

Leave a Reply

