The Fault in Our Stars

“The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, But in ourselves, that we are underlings.”  Julius Caesar (I, ii, 140-141)

I just opened my kindle to check the highlights and the notes I had for the novel The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. It turns out I read the book more than a year ago, and I can’t remember every single detail of the book, but I remember liking it a lot.

fault-in-our-stars-hazel-gus-bench-amsterdam

I just saw the film today and I loved it. The thing about this novel and film that it does not follow the pattern of cancer stories with all these cliches about being ill and asking people to feel sorry for you and all that cheesy romance between teenagers. This story is somehow realistic and it deals with real questions of life and death, as seen through the young generation that is dying from cancer.

This post is not an actual book/film review. Just watch the movie and see for yourself. And besides, in the movie they go to Amsterdam – one of my favorite places in the world, I’d kill to go there again.

Leave a Reply

