Where no one accepts me I can succeed

It was the final day of the semester, few years ago, when I was still a student at the Theatre Department. I was one of those who never had any previous experience they can relate to when dealing with Theatre performance and arts.
I chose to study Theatre because I was interested in the subject as a whole, and I thought I might find it better and more amusing than other majors offered by the University. And I must confess getting in the department was easy – at least for me.
At that final day of the semester -or the final first year I was asked by one of my teachers/professors to reflect my experience at the department, and all I could come up with was “In a place where no one can accept me for who I am, I can succeed.” All of the other classmates stared at me, as if I was speaking something that truly affected them, or shocked them. I looked at them all with an expression on my face that says “what? it’s not a secret that my performance yesterday was great.” And then add “And please! we all know that no one here accepts me for who I am. You all think I’m crazy from planet Mars.”
The following year was even more difficult for me; being accepted for who I am and earn other people’s (students’) approval was even a tougher task and I had no idea how to fit in.
I accepted the fact that no one could truly accept me, and no I didn’t do it on purpose, to not be accepted. To be myself was and is still a mission I had to deal with its consequences. Some people would rather persuade me that I’m doing it on purpose, to not be accepted for who I am, but I know that I tried. I spent all my life trying – to fit into the ideals of society. I tried to do everything they expect me to do, I simply failed. And the same happened in the Theatre department I tried and kept failing. But one thing I never failed at (or at least I imagine myself not to fail at) is being accepted with myself – to be alienated from society is one thing, but to be alienated from oneself is another.

Maybe it’s time to drop the true self and merge into society. It’s time to lose my own identity and become a copy of all the rest and live like all of them… then I will succeed, or be happy, is it either or both?

4 thoughts on “Where no one accepts me I can succeed

  1. You would lose the unique oneness of being you Arwa…god made you perfect and do not think about what others say or think…you are and will always be a jewel my sister…and you will achieve all your goals in life. When i was younger it was like I was a failure in high school, many thought I was the least likely to succeed. The only who believed in my was God, and so our relationship blossomed beautifully. Until this day the successes i have had in my life I attribute to God, he always stay within my life…a consistent love. And so I am inspired each day I awaken by his touch of grace. I know you are also…never change to please someone else. I love you my sister the selfless, always genuine person you are!!!! Hugs and blessings! Congrats on finishing the first year!

    Like

    1. Thank you my dear friend.
      It happened to me about 3 years ago. I ended up finishing earlier than I expected. I finished my BA in theatre before all of them, even those who started before me. Perhaps now I’m not in the theatre fields like most of them, but I will find my place.

      Thank you again for your warm and loving words.

      Like

  2. Arwa – Try to consider your individuality a badge of honor (as I know you already do). Here’s a quote:

    “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”
    ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Like

    1. Thank you. I try my best to enjoy my individuality, but hearing criticism every day isn’t as enjoyable as I could imagine, espeically when it comes from people I care about. But emmerson is right, it is a great accomplishment if I survive to remain my own self.

      Like

Leave a Reply

