I’m an Arab

photo136012

What makes me an Arab?
The fact that I speak Arabic?
Or that I’m a middle eastern?
Or that my origin is Arab?

There are a lot of questions I have to ask concerning my identity.
A lot of issues with accepting my reality.
Yet,  all I know that I am a person,  who can speak a language that others speak,  perhaps I’m not as skilled as I ought to be with this language,  but it is a language I’ve learned in time,  ever since I was an infant.
If I stop speaking Arabic will I become someone else?
If I change my name will I become another person?
If I change my looks, will I become a stranger?

People judge me because I’m an Arab,
they assume I’m a Muslim.
I’m not.
I’m neither a Jew, a Druze nor a Christian.
I’m just an Arab.
Because I don’t know if I chose to be one,
or I was born to be one.

I am an Arab,
because that’s my identity,
my license, and my passport.

I am an Arab ….

4/10/12

 

for more of my writing, visit my website/blog

2 thoughts on “I’m an Arab

  1. Exceptional poem.You are honest and brave,you are proud to be you .I am an
    Arab l was born in Iraq l speak 4 languages beside teaching Arabic.I am proud of my culture.We are different as nations but we are alike as human beings.Wish you success.Jalal

    Like

    1. Thanks. Well, I have to be proud to be an Arab, otherwise I’d be just someone who knows nothing about being what one is born to be.
      Where I live, a lot of people don’t know what is it like to be an Arab, and what does one have to do in order to be an Arab. I don’t think it has to do with following any rules, or doing anything that will define you. You simply accept the fact that you’re what you are. Eventually, we’re all human beings who come from different cultures, and we are nothing but whom we are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

