Jane Austen’s Birthday

I have discovered that today is Jane Austen’s 237th birthday. And for those who are stupid enough, no, she’s not still alive. And for those who say “But she’s dead.”, I say “Shut up. She will never die.”

Jane Austen has been my favorite author for years now (more than 6 years I dare say). And even though I tend to forget her birthday it doesn’t mean that I don’t admire her now as I used to do before. (I’ve remembered her birthday from a Facebook fan-page that was on my feed).

I have been reading online that a lot of people has been celebrating two hundred years of anniversary for Jane Austen’s most popular novel Pride and Prejudice, which is my favorite novel. It’s quite a lot for a novel, not only to survive as a classic but also as a popular novel. I quite declare that I know for sure now that Pride and Prejudice is the most popular novel, for it is popular today as it was two hundred years ago. There are always books inspired by it coming out, and other books that are based on it, and movies, and shows. There are always updates and news for this novel, one can always find something new to read and watch for Pride and Prejudice. There was Lost in Austen, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (its sequels and prequels), Lizzie Bennet’s Diaries and now there’s Fifty Shades of Mr. Darcy (a parody). And these only came out in the past 3 years. I wonder what will come out next year? I’m amazed on how popular this novel is. It doesn’t lose its sparkle and it keeps shining.

There is something about Jane Austen’s style that makes people amused by her writing, there’s a good amount of romance that we, female readers, quite admire, and still it’s not far from reality. Her stories are stories of women, who want to make their own choices and do what they can do best.
Maybe I should have made a party of some sort, but I don’t have a lot of people who like Jane Austen in my area (most of them don’t read at all). So I wonder, what can a fan do on Jane Austen’s birthday? read all her novels? watch the movies? sit and drink tea in costume? or, simply sit and write a post on one’s blog?

Leave a Reply

